Indian Inspired Chicken and Rice

575

It seems like every curry I choose to make from either one of my Indian cookbooks, 660 Curries or Recipes from My Indian Kitchen, comes with its own unique spice blend. I am willing to make each and everyone to further my culinary explorations of Indian food. What I am not willing to do is waste the spice blends I have already have one hand so I am starting to look at incorporating the spice blends into my everyday cooking.

One of my favorite quick and easy recipes is Mark Bittman’s Chicken and Rice. With just 5 ingredients and 25 minutes I can have a yummy dinner on my plate. Well, tonight I decided to try and incorporate the Bengali 5 Spice blend into my chicken and rice. I just added three additional ingredients and totally changed the direction of this dish without adding a minute more to the prep or cooking times.

Indian Inspired Chicken and Rice


Ingredients
4 chicken thighs
1 tsp olive oil
½ cup uncooked white rice
1 cup chicken broth or water (I always use water)
1 cup onion, chopped
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 dried red chili, broken up
1 1/2 tsp Bengali 5 Spice blend
In a small skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. When the oil is hot add the onion and saute 5 minutes. Add the turmeric, spice blend and dried red chili. Saute until onion is soft and translucent, about 5 more minutes. When the onion is done add the rice and stir until glossy with oil and spices. Nestle the chicken pieces into the rice. Add the stock or water and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat so the broth barely bubbles. Cover and cook for 20 – 25 minutes.
Leave a Reply

