Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Quinoa Bake

707

I loved, loved, loved broccoli and rice casserole when I was a kid.  When I asked my mom for the recipe and made what she gave me, I was so disappointed.  The recipe was not the way I remembered it at all.  I don’t know if it is my memory that’s faulty or the recipe. It just wasn’t what I remembered having as a kid.  So I have hunted down and tried dozens of recipes for broccoli and rice casserole over the years. While I have found some good recipes none of them have been exactly what I have been searching for.

A few weeks ago, Audrey over at  My Lady, Melady: My Castle; My Food posted   recipe for Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Quinoa bake and I found the recipe from my childhood I had been looking for.  Thank you, Audrey.

Cheesy Chicken and Broccoli Quinoa Bake

6 TBS quinoa
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/4 teaspoon olive oil
1/4 cup diced onion
1 cup chopped broccoli
1 1/2 cups cooked chopped chicken
1/8 tsp cayenne
1/2 teaspoon paprika
salt and pepper to taste
3/4 cup cheddar cheese; shredded
1/4 cup mozzarella; shredded (or any cheese of choice)

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Cook quinoa with chicken broth,according to package directions.  Sauté diced chicken in a large nonstick skillet heated with a drizzle of oil. When no longer pink, place in a bowl and set aside.  Sauté onion or shallot in another drizzle of oil in the same skillet. When lightly browned add broccoli and sauté for a few more minutes.Add chicken, cayenne and paprika and cook for a few minutes to heat through.  Taste and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Stir in quinoa and heat for several minutes.  Stir in cheeses.Place mixture into sprayed casserole dish, sprinkle with a little more shredded cheddar and place in oven for 20-30 minutes, until golden brown.