Spinach, Chickpeas and Egg Nests

467.JPGSince I got my 2 quart pressure cooker in August, I have made about 7 1/2 pounds of steel-cut oats.  That wouldn’t be so amazing if I was feeding a family of 4 but I am not.  I am feeding myself and 2 greedy rats that eat about 2 tablespoons of oatmeal each morning or as a snack. Even as much as I like oatmeal, this is getting ridiculous.  I really need to expand my morning menu.

That’s harder to do than a person would think.  It is cold here in North Dakota so I like to start the day with something warm and hearty.  However, I am not a morning person so things can’t be too complicated or time-consuming.  I just not up to that much most mornings.

This recipe meets all my morning criteria, it is certainly hardy with the addition of chickpeas.  It is relatively quick and easy, even though I have to cook the eggs a lot longer then the directions state because uncooked egg white grosses me out.

This recipe is originally from Food Heaven Made Easy.

Spinach, Chickpeas, Egg Nest

1 TBS olive oil

1/4 cup onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups spinach

1/2 cup tomato sauce

2 eggs

salt and pepper

In a pan or skillet, heat the olive oil.  Add the onion and garlic. Saute over medium low heat for a minute or two.  Add spinach and saute with the onion mixture until it wilt, about 1 minute.  Add the chickpeas and tomato sauce.  Cook together for 3 minutes over medium heat ,with the lid on.  Crack your eggs on top of the tomato / spinach mixture.  Allow them to cook without the lid for 5-6 minute or until the eggs reach the desired doneness. 

2 thoughts on “Spinach, Chickpeas and Egg Nests

Leave a Reply

