Boston Brown Bread

462

About 5 years ago my best friend, Debby, lived with me for about 5 months.  I never had had a roommate so there was some adjustment needed on both our parts.  It didn’t take long to get into our groove.

One thing I loved to do for Debby was make muffins for breakfast … lunch…. dinner, whenever.  We spent hours and  hours talking about life, the universe and everything over those muffins.  Debby’s favorite kind of muffin for me to make was Boston brown bread muffins.

When ever I make Boston brown bread I think of Debby and how lucky I am to have her in my life.  She has seen me at my absolute highest highs and lowest low and still hangs around.  She knows all about me and loves me anyway.  In a world that takes offense at everything she listens to me and never makes a single judgment.  Debby is my biggest cheerleader in all that I do and my biggest kick in the pants when I need it.  I thank God everyday  for bringing her into my life.

Baked Boston Brown Bread

1/2 cup rye flour

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup cornmeal

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp plus 1/8 tsp baking soda

6 TBS molasses

1 cup buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Spray a 5″ x 3″ loaf pan with non-stick cooking spray; set aside.  Combine the flours, cornmeal, salt and baking soda in a large bowl.  In a seperate bowl, combine the molasses and buttermilk until combined.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and stir until just moistened.  This is a loose batter not a dough.  Spoon the batter into the prepared pan.  Bake for 1 hour and 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes before removing the bread from the pan.

Leave a Reply

