Good Morning Power Muffins

Hi, I don’t know if you noticed but I am making some changes around here.  In addition to adding my pressure cooker recipes to this blog, I am also giving my blog a much-needed face lift.  I have chosen a nifty new layout.  Eventually, I am going to have awesome rotating header and nifty sidebars.  First, I am working on better organizing my index to make things easier to find.  I never expected A Solitary Feast to last a year, much almost three years so I have a ton of recipes to go through.  Please be patient with me if you find broken links or links that go to a wrong place or no place at all.  As with all remodeling, in real life or on the blogosphere, it’s going to be inconvenient and a big pain in the backside of your frontside but so worth it when it’s done.

While you are waiting for me to get done with this, why don’t you try these muffins from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe? I know they sound kind of strange with the addition of quinoa to the menu but they are really good.  The quinoa gives it a subtle cruch and an added boost of protien.  No, it’s not your imagination, there is no added sugar in this recipe.  All the sweetness comes from the molasses. Unlike most of my muffin recipes, this recipe makes a full dozen muffins.  I throw the ones I don’t eat into a freezer bag and into the freezer for a nice snack. I can not tell you how much I love these muffins!!!!

Good Morning Power Muffins

1/4 cup canola oil

1/4 cup no sugar added applesauce

1/2 cup molasses

2 large eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 cup flour

3/4 tsp  baking soda

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

3/4 cup cooked quinoa

3/4 cup shredded carrots

Preheat the oven to  350 degrees.  Lightly grease a 12 cup muffin tin with non-stick cooking spray.  In a medium bowl,  combine the canola oil, applesauce, molasses, eggs and vanilla.  In another medium bowl, combine the flour,  baking powder, salt, cinnamon, cooked quinoa and carrots.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, and gently combine. Don’t over mix, it is okay if there are some lumps and dry streaks.  Fill the muffin cups 3/4 full and bake for 18 – 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Let the muffins cool in the tin for 2-3 minutes before moving the muffins to a rack to cool completely. 

Leave a Reply

