Christina Lane’s Small Batch of Corn Muffins

482

Last week was a soup kind of week.  It isn’t cold but I have been incredibly lazy in the kitchen so I made soups all week long.  Soups are quick to throw together and I don’t have to pay much attention to it while it cooks, especially if I do it in the pressure cooker.  However, a cup of soup  isn’t a whole meal so I needed a little something more.  I decided to try a recipe for corn bread muffins I had seen in Christina Lane’s Comfort and Joy  Cookbook.  I am not usually the biggest fan of corn bread.  It is usually too sweet, too dry and too crumbly for my taste but Christina Lane has never let me down so I decided to give it a try.  Christina’s cornbread was none of those things.  I really liked it and will make it often.

Have you ever been to Christina Lane’s awesome blog, Dessert for Two?  If you haven’t, go now, really, what are you waiting for? GO!!!!! I have been a Dessert for Two follower for years and tried, literally dozens of her recipes and they are always awesome.  Although, if you do go to her blog, I take no responsibility if your pants don’t fit at the end of the week.

A Small Batch of Corn Muffins

1/2 cup cornmeal, stone ground blue or yellow

1/3 cup flour

2 TBS white sugar

3/4 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 egg

1/2 cup buttermilk

1 1/2 TBS unsalted butter, melted

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Line a six cup muffin pan with paper liners.  In a small bowl, combine the cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Stir well to combine. In a small bowl, combine the egg, buttermilk, and melted butter.  Combine the wet ingredients with the dry ingredients and let sit for a minute or two.  Fill each muffin cup 2/3’s full with batter.  Bake 12 – 15 minutes.  The muffins are done when a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. 

2 thoughts on “Christina Lane’s Small Batch of Corn Muffins

  1. It’s great the she has downsized recipes. With a household of two, probably not ever being able to retire, people it’s nice to not have too much and waste food.

    Like

    • Christina Lane is why I started A Solitary Feast. Until I saw Desserts for Two I didn’t think anyone would want small batch recipes of any kind. I figured I was the only person in the world that didn’t like to eat the same thing for a week in a row.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

