PC Taco Soup — What Size Pressure Cooker Should I Get?

On Black Friday I finally bought a 6 quart pressure cooker. No, it wasn’t an Insta – Pot. Even when Insta – Pots are on sale they are still a little too expensive for my budget.  I bought a 6 quart Farberware pressure cooker. It was literally, half the price of the Insta – Pot on sale and it works beautifully.

So what happened to my 2 quart pressure cooker?  Don’t I love it any more? Yes, I still love my little 2 quart pressure cooker.  I still use it for the majority of my pressure cooking.  However, as I learned more about pressure cooking and what they can and can not do, I realized there were a lot of things that my 2 quart pressure cooker just couldn’t do due to its small size.  So I decided to go big or go home.

The first thing I made in my 6 quart pressure cooker was the taco soup recipe that came in the recipe booklet with the pressure cooker.  I love soup so I make it year around.  90 degrees above or 40 degrees below zero soup is awesome.  The only change I made to the recipe isn’t really a change.  I used my homemade ranch dressing and my homemade taco seasoning instead of the store bought packets.  You can use the stuff out of the packets if you want too.

Oh, I should really answer the question I posed in the title of my post.  I you can only afford one pressure cooker, I would go with the 6 quart pressure cooker rather than the 2 quart pressure cooker to begin with.  According to the instructions included with my 6 quart pressure cooker, which were only marginally better then those with my 2 quart pressure cooker, as long as I have a minimum of one cup liquids and 1 cup solids I can cook a small meal in the 6 quart pressure cooker.

Taco Soup

1 lb ground beef

2 (16 oz) cans pinto beans

1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes

1 (14.5 oz) can Rotel tomatoes

1 (1oz) package dry ranch salad dressing mix

1/2 (1 oz) package taco seasoning

4 cups water

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

In a 6 quart pressure cooker, saute your ground beef until no longer pink. Drain the fat from the hamburger.  In a small bowl, whisk together the water, dry ranch salad dressing mix, and dry taco seasoning.  Pour over the ground beef.  Add the remaining ingredients, except for the cheese, and stir to combine.  Lock the lid.  Cook on high pressure for 20 minutes.  Use a natural release. Top each serving with cheddar cheese.

Leave a Reply

