C leaning Out The Pantry #4 Pressure Cooker Chicken Noodle Soup

Have I told you lately how much I love my pressure cooker?  Today all I wanted was chicken noodle soup.  Not any old can or packet of chicken flavored soup like substance but real, like my mom makes it chicken noodle soup.  Problem was, even though it isn’t a complicated recipe, it still takes about an hour and a half to make on the stove.  I didnt get  home from work until after 8 pm and was totally exhausted from a busy work day.  I didn’t have an hour and a half to spend in the kitchen plus time to let the soup cool down enough to put in the fridge before I was going to be out like a light.  So I decided to try making my mom’s chicken noodle soup in my 6 quart pressure cooker.  I just threw everything except the noodles into the pressure cooker and about 25 minutes later had the chicken noodle soup I so desperately wanted.  The best part it was sooooo good, possibly the best chicken noodle soup I ever made.  Have i told you lately how much I love my pressure cooker?

Pantry items used – Chicken boullion cubes

Mom's Chicken Noodle Soup In The Pressure Cooker

1 – 2 stalks celery, chopped

1-2 carrots, peeled and chopped

6 cups chicken broth

2 bone in, skin on chicken thighs, skin removed and excess fat trimmed

1 cup raw egg noodles

Chicken boullion to taste

Toss celery, carrots, chicken broth and chicken thighs into the pressure cooker. Lock the lid.  Cook on high pressure for 8 minutes.  Use a quick release to release the pressure.  Turn the pressure cooker to the saute setting and bring the soup to a boil.  Add the noodles and chicken boullion to taste and cook until they reach the desired tenderness. Meanwhile, remove the chicken from the bone and chop.  Add the chicken to the soup.  Place in bowls and serve.

 

 

Leave a Reply

