Cleaning Out The Pantry #6 Spice Rubs, 2 Ways

One of the reasons  I am cleaning out my pantry this month is because  I am doing a Whole30 in April.  I don’t want a lot of non compliant food hanging around to tempt me.  Never heard of a Whole30?  I hadn’t either until I picked up a Whole30 cookbook in January.  The food intrigued me enough to check it out further.  Basically,  on a Whole30, you eliminate the most common dietary causes of ill health for 30 days so no added sugar, dairy, grains, beans, processed food, carragean, added sulfites, or msg of any kind.  At the end of the 30 days you gradually add back these foods and see which ones are causing problems.  It isn’t a diet because the main goal of a Whole30 isn’t to lose weigh. In fact, the plan discourages you from weighing yourself during the 30 days.  Instead of weight loss, the plan wants you to concentrate on what your body feels like when you feed it whole, non processed food.  The plan helps you become a more mindful eater so you can make good food choices without making any food the “enemy”.

Why do I want to do a Whole30 if it isn’t for weight loss?  I haven’t slept well for years.  My doctor said it is because of all the years I worked overnight shifts as a waitress and auditor at a motel.  The only thing he could do for me was give me very strong, very expensive, sleeping pills.  I took them for a few months and stopped because, in this case, the cure was worse then the disease.  I woke up after taking the pills feeling like a zombie,  I could barely function at work, forget about functioning at home.  I quit taking them after about two months.

A lot of people have wrote about their Whole30 experiences on their blogs and almost everyone mentions improved sleep as a side effect. If I could improve my sleep even a little bit it would be totally worth giving up those things I mentioned before.  Besides, I am only giving up those things for 30 days.  I firmly believe you can do anything for 30 days.

This afternoon I bought a couple of Whole30 cookbooks and was delighted to see that almost every recipe relied heavily on spices and herbs for flavor.  Many recipes had spice rubs or blends.  I love making my own spice rubs and spice blends.  I have tons of spice rubs and blends in my to try folder.  It is nice to know I will be able to keep some familiar flavors when I do my Whole30.

These spice rubs are currently my favorites. Pantry items used — spices and herbs

Afgan Spice Rub

2 1/4 tsp black peppercorns

2 1/4 tsp cumin seeds

1 1 /2 tsp ground tumeric

3/4 tsp ground cardamom

3/4 tsp ground coriander

Combine all ingredients. Mix well. Store in an air tight container

Dry Rub For Chicken or Pork

1 TBS brown sugar

3/4 tsp kosher salt

3/4 tsp chili powder

3/4 tsp paprika

1 1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 1/2 tsp onion powder

3/4 tsp oregano

1/2 tsp thyme

3/4 tsp parsley

1/2 tsp sage

1 /4 tsp ground coriander

1/4 tsp dried rosemary, crushed

Combine all ingredients.  Mix well. Store in an air tight container.

 

 

One thought on “Cleaning Out The Pantry #6 Spice Rubs, 2 Ways

  1. Pingback: Spice Blend Round Up | A Solitary Feast

Leave a Reply

