Cleaning Out The Pantry #9 Pressure Cooker Bone Broth

I have slowly been preparing for my Whole30 for the last couple of weeks.  In addition to using up as much of my non compliant food as possible, I have been trying to buy compliant food a little at a time.  This isn’t as easy as it sounds.  One of the Whole30 rules is not to  use anything with added sugar.  The problem is there is added sugar in hidden in a lot of things, even things you wouldn’t suspect to have added sugar.  As I cleaned out my fridge, I expected to find added sugar in a lot of my condiments and I wasn’t disappointed.  As cleaned out my canned goods, I was absolutely shocked to find my favorite brand of canned tomatoes and boxed stock both have added sugar. WTF?!!! Why do tomatoes and broths have added sugar? It’s sooooo frustrating.  So I am looking for a brand of  compliant canned tomatoes that I like.  I have decided instead of relying on boxed stock, I am going to make my own.  I have made vegetable broth dozens of time because I prefer its more neutral flavor in most dishes.  However, I saved the carcass from a chicken I made in the pressure cooker a few weeks ago so I decided to try and make chicken bone broth.

The first time I made bone broth, it was totally unintentional.  I had tossed a chicken in my pressure cooker to cook.  When I took it out, I kept the broth and put it in the fridge.  When I came back to use it the broth, it had set up like Jello.  I was totally freaked out.  I had  no idea it was supposed to do that.  I thought there was something wrong with my chicken. I almost threw the broth and chicken out. Fortunately, my friend, Derek, was over and he told me that the solid broth is actually very good for you.  So we ate the chicken and used the broth for soup the next night.

When you use the bone broth, don’t add any water to it, just gently warm it up.  The Jello like substance will melt back into liquid broth.

Pressure Cooker Chicken Bone Broth

2-3 lbs chicken bones

1/2 medium onion, with the root end cut off, your don’t have to peel it

2 stalks celery, cut into thirds

2 medium carrots, cut into thirds, you don’t have to peel them

2 bay leaves

1 tsp whole black peppercorns

10 cups water

In a 6 quart pressure cooker add the chicken bones, onion, celery, carrots, bay leaves, peppercorns and water.  Lock the lid.  Bring to high pressure for 2 hours ( 120 minutes). Release the pressure naturally.  I let the broth cool and package it in 1 cup portions in Zip Loc snack size bags.  Lay flat and freeze.  

One thought on “Cleaning Out The Pantry #9 Pressure Cooker Bone Broth

  1. I just love making broth. I save vegetable ends and trimmings for months to make veg broth too. Veg broth really stinks. Ha. But tastes great in recipes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

