Deconstructed Moroccan Chicken Tangine

IMG_20170321_124000

Some of my friends are concerned about the Whole30 I am doing in April.  They think I am going to starve myself to loose weight and do myself some damage.  I can’t convince them that the Whole3o isn’t a diet.  I am not restricting calories, counting carbs or denying myself food.  When I am hungry, I can eat.  I’ll just eat whole, unprocessed food when I am hungry instead of the crap I am used to grabbing when I am hungry.

Since I can’t convince my friends I am not going to starve myself, I thought I would just show them some of the things I can eat on the Whole30.  Today I made a lovely Moroccan inspired  chicken dish.  I have used dry rubs hundreds of times but this dish was the first time I ever used a wet rub. It’s going to look like there isn’t going to be enough rub to coat the 4 chicken thighs but, trust me, there is.   I served it with a side of brussels sprouts.

To my friends, I love you for being concerned about my health and well being.  Don’t worry, though, I love cooking and eating too much to stop.

This recipe is the work of the bloggers from Paleo Grubs. I placed it here only to show my friends the kind of food I can eat on the Whole30.  Please go check out the rest of Paleo Grubs amazing recipes

Deconstucted Moroccan Chicken Tangine

4 bone in, skin on chicken thighs

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp crushed red pepper

1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

‹2 bay leaves

3 TBS olive oil

1 bunch of cilantro, chopped, divded

1 medium red onion, chopped

1/2 cup green olives, sliced

1 1/2  cups chicken stock

In a small bowl, combined the cumin, black pepper, paprika, red pepper, ginger an cinnamon.  Add the olive oil and stir to mix.  Add the bay leaves and half the chopped cilantro.  Rub the mixture all over the chicken and under the skin.  Refrigerate 6 – 24 hours.  When you are ready to cook, preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Place the chicken thighs, skin side up,on a baking tray and cook for 35-40 minutes.  While the chicken is cooking, add the onions to a medium pan  over medium high heat.  Add whatever rub is left in the bowl to the onions.  If there isn’t any rub left over, add a pinch of each of the spices you used for the rub to the onions.  Cook until the onions are just starting to brown, 3-5 minutes.  Add the olives, cilantro, and chicken stock to the pan and simmer until the chicken is  done.  The skin should be nice and crispy.  When the chicken is done, add any juices left in the pan to the pan with the gravy.  Let the chicken rest for 10 minutes.  Serve the gravy on the top or the side of the chicken.  

 

Leave a Reply

