Whole30 Day 3 — Weight Watcher ‘s Vegetable Soup

When I decided to do the Whole30, I spent a lot of time thinking what times I might be vulnerable to making bad food choices.  The biggest danger zone I could think of for me is when I get off of work.  I get home from work anywhere from 7 to 9 pm.  Depending on how I slept the night before and how stressful my day was there are a lot of times I stop by the deli on my way home or toss a bowl of oatmeal or some other grain into the pressure cooker for dinner becauseI just don’t want to cook.  I can’t do that on while I am doing a Whole30 so I need another plan.  I decided to make a pot of soup on my prep day and eat it as needed throughout the week.  The first soup I made was Weight Watcher’s Zero Point Vegetable Soup.

Back when I was a Weight Watcher, I wasn’t much of a cook.  I lived on Smart Ones tv dinners, Boca Burgers and Weight Watcher’s zero point vegetable soup.  I ate gallons of the stuff.  The soup got me through a lot of times when I had no points left for the day and I  was starving. I think it is going to do the same for my Whole30.

A lot of my friends are asking how I am feeling since I started my Whole30, so I thought I would post my response here.  Day two and three, I woke up feeling like I was coming down with something.  I had a vague headache and felt kind of achy.  The literature said that is normal and should go away soon.  I also started having very vivid nightmares and dreams.  I wake up in a terrified and in a sweat or crying or ecstatically happy and I don’t know why.  I don’t know if these dreams are connected to the Whole30 or not, but they started the same time as I started my Whole30.  The literature says that vivid dreams about eating noncompliant foods and ruining your Whole30 are common.  That is not what these dreams are.  I usually don’t remember what I have dreamed so this is just weird.  I don’t mind the crying or being ecstatically happy but I can totally do without the flop sweats and my heart beating so hard it feels like it is coming out of my chest.  The only other physical symptom I have is I fart alot.  This isn’t suprising since I have eaten more vegetables in the last three days than I have in the last three months.  I am sure this  will pass as my body gets used to eating more good stuff.

Weight Watcher's Zero Point Vegetable Soup

2/3 cup sliced carrots
1/2 cup diced onions
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 cups fat-free broth (beef, chicken, or vegetable)
1 1/2 cups diced green cabbage
1/2 cup green beans
1 tbsp. tomato paste
1/2 tsp. dried basil
1/4 tsp. dried oregano
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 cup diced zucchini
In a large saucepan sprayed with nonstick cooking spray, sauté carrots, onions and garlic over low heat for about 5 minutes. Add broth, cabbage, green beans, tomato paste, basil, oregano and salt, and bring to a boil. Lower the heat, cover, and simmer for around 15 minutes or until beans are tender. Lastly, stir in the zucchini and continue to heat soup for 3-4 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

