Whole30 Day 4 — Garbage Stir Fry

1492279115984

Before my Whole30 started, I gave up caffeine because I don’t like coffee and soda, even diet ones, aren’t allowed.  I like tea but usually, add a few teaspoons of sugar to a cup.  I resigned myself to having nothing but water for thirty days or maybe a juice, if I got really desperate.  My friend, Steph, suggested I try Good Earth’s Sweet and Spicy tea because she liked it without sugar.  If Steph likes it without sugar it’s got to be something because she likes her tea sweeter than I do. I told her I would have to look into it because I recently found that some of my favorite flavors of tea had soy and stevia in them.  Seriously, you got to read the labels on everything because added sweetners and soy turn up in the strangest places.

Today we met up for an afternoon out and she handed me a box of tea and said she researched it for me and it was completly soy and sugar free. I was touched she took the time to support me on my Whole30 journey.  I am truely blessed with awesome friends, I really am.   Steph was also right about the tea.  It does taste good without the added sugar.  Although, it is definitely more spicy than sweet.

Today’s recipe is from my new favorite blog Nom Nom Paleo.  The site has a shit ton of awesome Whole30 recipes that I’ll be working my way through ove the next couple of weeks.  The recipes are so mouth watering they will make into my regular rotation when I  am done with my Whole30 too.

I really like this recipe because it is infinately variable.  You can use whatever spice blends you want, I used taco seasoning, and all the leftover bits of vegetables you have at the end of the week.  The second time I made it, I used one of my curry powders I make from my curry experiments and cauliflower, broccoli, zucchini and red bell pepper.  Yum.  The recipe is quick and easy to make.

Garbage Stir Fry

1 1/2 tsp olive oil

1/2 cup onion, chopped

8 oz ground beef, or ground meat of your choice

1 tsp Madras curry powder, or spice blend of your choice

salt and pepper, to taste

1/4 head green cabbage

juice from 1/2 a lime

In a medium frying pan, heat the oil over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook until it begins to brown, 5 -10 minutes.   Add the ground meat and cook until no pink remains, 5 minutes.  Add the curry powder and season with salt and pepper.  Stir to combine.  Add the cabbage.  Cover the pan and let cook until the cabbage is as soft as you like it., 2-5 minutes.    adapted from Nom Nom Paleo

4 thoughts on “Whole30 Day 4 — Garbage Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

