Whole30 Day 5 — Chicken Apple Sausage I

1491423329467

I had my first Whole30 food dream today.  In my dream I had a whole bottle of pink decorating sugar in my mouth before I remembered I was doing a Whole30.  I tried to spit it out but, of course, it didn’t work.  I woke up pissed as hell I ruined my Whole30 over something sooooo stupid.  It took me quite a while to realize I was still in bed at home and not at work where I have access to big bottles of pink decorating sugar.  It was just a dream.

The literature says dreaming about eating non compliant food is your brain’s last-ditch attempt to get you to go back to eating the way you did before your Whole30.  All I know is my food dream was the start of the hardest day of my Whole30 yet.  I spent the whole day battling the desire to get in the kitchen and bake and the desire to eat all things. I watched movies, took a hot bath with a good book, dug through the Whole30 blog, crocheted, absolutely anything I could think of to distract me from the thoughts going through my head about baking and eating.  I am proud to say I won this round of Julie’s brain fights back but it was a close thing several times.

I have a hard time finding some of the compliant premade foods that the people doing Whole30 talk or when I do find it is so expensive I can’t afford it on my budget.  I am constantly looking for ways to make homemade versions of those things.  This one version of chicken apple sausage I found.

Chicken Apple Sausage I

1 TBS coconut oil

1 small onion, chopped

1 medium apple, peeled and chopped

1 lb ground chicken

1 tsp ground sage

1 tsp fennel seeds

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

In a medium size bowl, combine all the ingredients, except the coconut oil.  Mix well.  Form into equal size patties.  In a medium frying pan over medium heat, melt the coconut oil.  Add the patties and cook until golden brown, 3-4 minutes per side. You could also cook it without forming it into patties and use it in salads, omelettes and breakfast bakes.  Keep covered in the fridge for a few days or freeze for a few months.

 

Leave a Reply

