Whole30 Day 7 — No Sugar Added BBQ Sauce

Today is the end of my first week on Whole30.  I can’t believe I made it so far.  I think on some level, I didn’t really think I would.  My second week of Whole30 is going to be very different from my first because today is my last day of vacation.  I go back to work tomorrow, meaning I will have much more stress in my daily life, much less time to cook, and a whole new set of temptations. I also have a successful week of Whole30 behind me so I got this.

Doing a Whole30 made my weekly grocery bill go up, not gonna lie.  The money added to  my grocery bill is more than balanced out with the money I am not spending on things like my daily soda/bagel, eating out, which I do a couple of times a week with my friend, Steph, and all those unexpected trips to the store for food when I don’t feel like cooking.

The increase in my grocery bill has also made me more aware of how much food waste was going on in my house, especially in the case of vegetables.  So I am aways trying to find ways to repurpose the food I have.  Today I decided to repurpose the pork roast I made yesterday by adding BBQ sauce and making it pulled pork for a salad. I already have several recipes for BBQ sauce but they all have sugar so I can’t use them.  When I googled sugar-free BBQ sauce, a million recipes came up but although they didn’t have white or brown sugar added, they had artificial sweeteners, honey or molasses.  All different forms of sugar.  I finally found one that had absolutely no sweetners of any kind in it but it seemed too simple to taste like BBQ sauce.  It isn’t the most complex tasting sauce but it is perfect when you want something quick and easy.

No Sugar Added BBQ Sauce

1 cup tomato sauce

3 TBS apple cider vinegar

1 tsp garlic powder

! TBS  paprika

2 TBS chili powder

In a small sauce pan, combine all the ingredients.  Mix well.   Bring to a boil, reudce heat, cover and simmer for about 10 minutes or so. [/recipes]

Leave a Reply

