Whole30 Day 16 — Breakfast Sausage

IMG_20170417_170520_930

I spend a lot of time reading about other peoples’ Whole30 journey, both the positive and the negative.  I love to hear about other people’s  successes and try to learn from other people’s less then positive experiences.  At one point, though, reading the positive success stories of others made me think I was doing something wrong.  I wasn’t experiencing the same things as they were.  The first few days of my Whole30 I was a little achey and tired, like you are when you are getting sick but I didn’t get the hungover feeling or  headaches from hell that alot of people described.  I never got to the kill all things point but I did spend two days crying at absolutely everything.  It made for some interesting experiences at work, I must say.  Am I saying that I wanted all that crap to occur?  No, I am really glad it didn’t but at the time it made me wonder what I was doing all this for.  Why am I giving up all this stuff if I am not seeing results?

I rememebered a conversation I had with Christina Lane on Instagram when she said she had heard that if you are already eating well you may not get the same results.  But not getting the same results is not the same as getting no results.  My results just took a little longer to see because I started from such a different place then most people. I was already almost processed food free and had been for years.  We all start our Whole30 at different places food and  healthwise so if you don’t see evey step of the Whole30 timeline doesn’t mean it isn’t working.  It just means working differently for you.  Keep with it and you will eventually start to see results.

Whole30 Breakfast Sausage

1 lb ground meat, the recipe called for ground pork but I used ground chicken

1 tsp fennel

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp ground sage

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1 TBS olive oil, divided

In a small bowl, combine all the ingredients.  Mix throughly with your hands.  Shape into 8 2 oz patties.  In a medium frying pan, heat 1 1/2 tsp olive oil over medium-high heat.  When the oil is hot add 4 of the patties and cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until the patties are done.  Serve or completely cool and freeze.

Leave a Reply

