Pressure Cooker Pizza Soup with Greens

I had all kinds of plans for the blog this week but then the dreaded allergies attacked my face with a vengeance.  Seriously, I look like I have been on a week long bender.  My eyes are red and puffy.  My nose is brighter than Rudolf’s.  My eyes are watering.  My nose is running and it feels like an elephant is sitting on my chest.  I sneezed so much and so hard the last two days I gave myself a horrible headache that just won’t go away.  It totally derailed any big attempts at cooking and photographing for the blog.

I am trying not to be a big baby about this because on the grand scale of things it isn’t cancer or Alzheimer’s or anything serious.  In fact, this is the first time since my Whole 30, in April, I have been bothered by my allergies at all.  I should be grateful.  Instead I am sitting here feeling miserable and very, very sorry for myself and I want the world to know it so here I am posting a whiney, crybaby post.  Tune in next week to my next post for our regularly scheduled non whiney, crybaby post.

I did manage to throw a soup into my pressure cooker.  The recipe came from my new cookbook, The Big Book of Paleo Slow Cooking.  I love slow cooking cookbooks because the recipes are usually, easily adapted for use in the pressure cooker.

Pressure Cooker Pizza Soup with Greens

1/2 bell pepper, diced

4 white mushrooms, diced

3/4 cup pepperoni, diced

1 large carrot, peeled and diced

2-3 leaves kale, ribs removed and cut into small pieces

1 1/2 tsp dried minced onion

1/2 tsp garlic powder

8 oz can tomato sauce

1/2 tsp Italian seasoning

1/8 tsp oregano

Pinch crushed red pepper flakes

2 cups chicken broth

Place all ingredients in a 6 quart pressure cooker.  Lock the lid.  Bring to high pressure.  Cook for 2 minutes.  Quick release the pressure.

Leave a Reply

