Today is day 15 of my Whole30 journey.  I am officially half way through the program.  To celebrate, I went to my favorite vintage store, Revolver, and bought myself  a present, a couple of new pieces of vintage Pyrex for my collection.  I bought a beautiful 1 1/2 quart rectangular baking dish and a set of 3 large mixing bowls.  If Whole30 has taught me anything its you can never have enough food storage containers or large mixing bowls.

I began collecting vintage Pyrex about two years ago.  Well, I didn’t start out collecting.  I found a few pieces as my friend, Steph, and I were on one of our long walks downtown.  I loved the color and design.  They were the perfect size for the kind of cooking and baking I do.  It also didn’t  hurt the pieces were pretty. At the time, it was hard to find cookware and bakeware that was small enough for my style of cooking much less stuff that was small enough and pretty.  Once I bought my first piece I started seeing pieces everywhere.  I went a little nuts at the beginning.  I finally decided to only buy pieces that I could actually use for my blog, that meant two quarts or less in size.  I also settled on a pattern called Butterfly Gold , the majority of the pieces in my collection, and Spring Blossom.  I have some pieces in other designs that I found to be unique in design or were given to me.  I even have a few pieces, that I didn’t know was vintage Pyrex when I  bought it.  I just thought they would be good for pot in pot cooking in my pressure cooker.

This is my favorite Whole30 recipe to date.   It’s quick and easy.  It is easy to vary it by changing the spices you use,  I am working on several variations.  I will post them when I perfect them.

Shakshuka

2 eggs

1/2 small onion, chopped

1 15oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cayenne pepper

pinch pepper

pinch salt

any random vegetables you want to add, I added mushrooms and spinach

In a 8 inch skillet, heat the oil over medium heat, until it shimmers.  Add onion and cook until translucent.  Add the tomatoes, paprika, cumin, cinnamon and cayenne, if using; mix well.  Bring tomatoes to a boil.  Add the eggs and cover.  Cook to your desired doneness.  I hate snotty egg whites so I cook the eggs about 8-10 minutes so the white is done and the yolk is hard.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 responses to “Whole30 Day 15 — Shakshuka”

  1. Liz Avatar

    I love pyrex. I collect them too and use for cooking for the blog and other things. I wonder why they don’t make the same old sturdy ones anymore!

    Like

    1. budgiesntiels Avatar

      I am glad you use it too. I have gotten bya lot of static from my collector friends for using it. I don’t see the point of having it if you aren’t going to use it.

      Like

Leave a comment